Theme Theme Theme

Theme basket review: A disaster year for NextGen Medicine

Equities 6 minutes to read
PG
Peter Garnry

Head of Equity Strategy

Summary:  Our NextGen Medicine basket has had a difficult past year down 39% as interest rates have charged higher while sentiment on biotechnology has eased. In our annual review we have decided to remove two stocks, Editas Medicine and MorphoSys, and replacing them with Ionis Pharmaceuticals and 10X Genomics providing a better geographical and product mix in the theme basket. A look at the fundamentals show that our NextGen Medicine stocks have had a median revenue growth rate of 60% over the past year. However, high growth and high equity valuations have clearly been a risky journey that past year.


The frontier of biotechnology is risky

This century has been called the century of biology as the human civilization has harnessed our understanding of physics to build machines and systems to advance our society. In this century it is predicted that we will accelerate innovation in our understanding of our biology and that it will lead to breakthroughs in drug discovery and potentially lead to a future of much more personalized medicine based on our understanding of the human genome. That is the premise of our NextGen Medicine, an expression of the innovation that goes on in drug discovery, but while expectations are high the past year has also shown how risky investments in this part of the market really are.

Our NextGen Medicine basket is down 39% over the past year compared to the MSCI World Index that is down 5% in the same period. While this underperformance is big it also reflect the incredible outperformance in the previous years. Our basket has a 60% revenue growth rate over the past year highlighting the enormous growth but with high expectations come high stock price sensitivity to changes in those expectations and NextGen Medicine stocks are typically high duration assets so they have naturally responded negatively to higher interest rates. Analysts remain positive on the industry with a median price target being 66% above current market prices.

NextGen Medicine is updated

We are in the process of reviewing all our current 21 theme baskets and there two baskets already that we have left unchanged and those are Women in Leadership (because it is our newest) and the Defence basket because no new companies have entered the industry and we are satisfied with the geographical split.

Following a review of our NextGen Medicine basket we have chosen to update the basket by removing two stocks: Editas Medicine and MorphoSys. These two companies are the two smallest stocks in the basket on market capitalization and therefore the obvious rule based decision in order to make room for two new companies that we believe provide a better geographical and product split. The two new stocks entering the basket are Ionis Pharmaceuticals and 10X Genomics.

Ionis Pharmaceuticals is developing RNA-targeted therapeutics and 10X Genomics develops integrated solutions across instruments, consumables and software for analysing biological systems and their complexity. The new updated theme basket can be seen below and found in our trading platform.

NameMkt Cap (USD mn.)Sales growth (%)R&D in % of mkt capDiff to PT (%)5yr return
Moderna Inc66,0924,695.53.263.7NA
Illumina Inc56,01532.11.819.5119.9
BioNTech SE42,8218,263.92.262.2NA
Seagen Inc25,221-6.34.532.4124.2
Genmab A/S22,759-28.316.728.563.7
Argenx SE14,512804.92.034.11,478.3
Exact Sciences Corp13,49833.25.562.1320.8
10X Genomics Inc10,08675.35.9110.4NA
Grifols SA10,008-2.93.167.5-24.2
Intellia Therapeutics Inc7,141-57.02.864.5657.4
Mirati Therapeutics Inc6,620501.66.679.72,060.4
Natera Inc6,59856.13.499.7654.9
Swedish Orphan Biovitrum AB6,238-2.330.911.059.6
Arrowhead Pharmaceuticals Inc5,24780.94.575.82,362.9
CRISPR Therapeutics AG4,7361,066.58.2132.4315.4
Ultragenyx Pharmaceutical Inc4,67767.210.8105.4-3.9
Ionis Pharmaceuticals Inc4,448-29.214.261.2-30.4
Galapagos NV4,3255.211.61.3-7.2
Beam Therapeutics Inc4,1793,154.27.7105.0NA
Denali Therapeutics Inc4,1321,400.96.1143.0NA
Abcam PLC3,96914.50.623.956.1
Fate Therapeutics Inc3,716198.15.0153.41,294.6
Twist Bioscience Corp3,01944.62.626.1NA
PTC Therapeutics Inc2,97637.417.121.2217.9
Iovance Biotherapeutics Inc2,490NA9.9118.3125.1
Sage Therapeutics Inc2,47515,871.511.761.7-11.5
Invitae Corp2,46777.114.4181.825.4
Pacific Biosciences of California Inc2,39352.63.7185.7124.2
CareDx Inc2,12762.93.2111.91,614.0
Allogene Therapeutics Inc1,571NA13.9191.7NA
Aggregate / median346,55659.55.766.0124.2
Source: Bloomberg and Saxo Group
Disclaimer

Saxo Capital Markets (Australia) Limited prepares and distributes information/research produced within the Saxo Bank Group for informational purposes only. In addition to the disclaimer below, if any general advice is provided, such advice does not take into account your individual objectives, financial situation or needs. You should consider the appropriateness of trading any financial instrument as trading can result in losses that exceed your initial investment. Please refer to our Analysis Disclaimer, and our Financial Services Guide and Product Disclosure Statement. All legal documentation and disclaimers can be found at https://www.home.saxo/en-au/legal/.

The Saxo Bank Group entities each provide execution-only service. Access and use of Saxo News & Research and any Saxo Bank Group website are subject to (i) the Terms of Use; (ii) the full Disclaimer; and (iii) the Risk Warning in addition (where relevant) to the terms governing the use of the website of a member of the Saxo Bank Group.

Saxo News & Research is provided for informational purposes, does not contain (and should not be construed as containing) financial, investment, tax or trading advice or advice of any sort offered, recommended or endorsed by Saxo Bank Group and should not be construed as a record of our trading prices, or as an offer, incentive or solicitation for the subscription, sale or purchase in any financial instrument. No representation or warranty is given as to the accuracy or completeness of this information. All trading or investments you make must be pursuant to your own unprompted and informed self-directed decision. No Saxo Bank Group entity shall be liable for any losses that you may sustain as a result of any investment decision made in reliance on information on Saxo News & Research.

To the extent that any content is construed as investment research, such content was not intended to and has not been prepared in accordance with legal requirements designed to promote the independence of investment research and as such, would be considered as a marketing communication.

None of the information contained here constitutes an offer to purchase or sell a financial instrument, or to make any investments.Saxo Capital Markets does not take into account your personal investment objectives or financial situation and makes no representation and assumes no liability as to the accuracy or completeness of the information nor for any loss arising from any investment made in reliance of this presentation. Any opinions made are subject to change and may be personal to the author. These may not necessarily reflect the opinion of Saxo Capital Markets or its affiliates.

Please read our disclaimers:
- Full Disclaimer (https://www.home.saxo/en-au/legal/disclaimer/saxo-disclaimer)
- Analysis Disclaimer (https://www.home.saxo/en-au/legal/analysis-disclaimer/saxo-analysis-disclaimer)
- Notification on Non-Independent Investment Research (https://www.home.saxo/legal/niird/notification)

Saxo Capital Markets (Australia) Limited
Suite 1, Level 14, 9 Castlereagh St
Sydney NSW 2000
Australia

Contact Saxo

Select region

Australia
Australia

The Saxo trading platform has received numerous awards and recognition. For details of these awards and information on awards visit www.home.saxo/en-au/about-us/awards

Saxo Capital Markets (Australia) Limited ABN 32 110 128 286 AFSL 280372 (‘Saxo’ or ‘Saxo Capital Markets’) is a wholly owned subsidiary of Saxo Bank A/S, headquartered in Denmark. Please refer to our General Business Terms, Financial Services Guide, Product Disclosure Statement and Target Market Determination to consider whether acquiring or continuing to hold financial products is suitable for you, prior to opening an account and investing in a financial product.

Trading in financial instruments carries various risks, and is not suitable for all investors. Please seek expert advice, and always ensure that you fully understand these risks before trading. Saxo Capital Markets does not provide ‘personal’ financial product advice, any information available on this website is ‘general’ in nature and for informational purposes only. Saxo Capital Markets does not take into account an individual’s needs, objectives or financial situation. The Target Market Determination should assist you in determining whether any of the products or services we offer are likely to be consistent with your objectives, financial situation and needs.

Apple, iPad and iPhone are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the US and other countries. AppStore is a service mark of Apple Inc.

The information or the products and services referred to on this website may be accessed worldwide, however is only intended for distribution to and use by recipients located in countries where such use does not constitute a violation of applicable legislation or regulations. Products and Services offered on this website is not intended for residents of the United States and Japan.

Please click here to view our full disclaimer.