Glossaire financier - E à H

Le glossaire financier recense les principaux termes et expressions techniques couramment employés dans le secteur de la finance, ainsi que leur définition.

E

Bénéfice par action (BPA)

Bénéfice de la société divisé par le nombre de ses actions en circulation.

Si une société avec un bénéfice de 10 millions USD sur une année possède 10 millions USD en actions, son BPA est alors de 1 USD par action.

Les sociétés utilisent souvent une moyenne pondérée des actions en circulation sur la période concernée lors du calcul du BPA.

Actions

Instrument financier représentant la détention partielle d'une société. En anglais, on parle indifféremment de « shares », « stocks » ou « equities ».

Option européenne

Option ne pouvant être exercée par son acheteur qu'à la date d'échéance du contrat.

Marché Boursier/Bourse

Marché sur lequel titres, options, contrats à terme et/ou matières premières sont négociées.

Taux de change

Valeur d'une devise par rapport à une autre. Par exemple un dollar argentin peut valoir 58 cents américains ou 70 yens japonais. Les devises négociées librement sur les marchés des changes ont un taux au comptant (s'appliquant aux opérations réglées « au comptant », c.-à-d. dans les deux jours ouvrables) et un taux à terme (qui correspond au taux au comptant corrigé du différentiel d'intérêt entre les deux devises jusqu'à l'échéance). Les pays peuvent déterminer leurs taux de change de plusieurs façons :

  • Via un système de change flottant, où la devise se fixe d'elle-même sur le marché.
  • Via un système de change flexible ou de parités à crémaillère, qui combine un taux fixe officiel et de fréquentes modifications de faible amplitude, lesquelles, en théorie, contrebalancent les spéculations liées à une réévaluation ou à une dévaluation.
  • Via un système de change fixe, où la valeur de la devise est fixée par le gouvernement et/ou la Banque centrale.

Exercice

Décision, réservée à l'acheteur de l'option, de demander l'exécution du contrat.

Date d'échéance

Date à laquelle un contrat à terme ou d'option expire.

Exposition

Fait d'être exposé à un risque, tel que des fluctuations de change.

Couverture de l'exposition

Pourcentage d'exposition couverte par des fonds disponibles pour opérations sur marge.

F

Fibonacci, analyse technique

Les éventails et les retracements de Fibonacci se composent de trois lignes tracées sur des graphiques dérivés des séries de nombres de Fibonacci.

Certains traders pensent que ces outils contribuent à identifier des secteurs successifs de soutien et de résistance sur un marché.

Pare-feu

Dispositif généralement utilisé pour protéger les réseaux privés contre des attaques hostiles sur Internet. Un pare-feu limite le type de trafic de réseau qui est autorisé vers et depuis Internet et peut parfois entraver le fonctionnement d'une station clientèle.

Forêt

Graphique qui prend comme point de base le cours de clôture actuel et indique chaque point de données par rapport à ce point de base.

À terme sec

Ordre de négocier un instrument sur devises à un cours fixe à une date fixe. Le cours du contrat forward correspond au taux au comptant corrigé du différentiel d'intérêt entre les deux devises jusqu'à l'expiration. Les ordres de contrat forward servent souvent à couvrir les risques liés aux opérations réalisées sur des marchés étrangers.

Contrat terme contre terme

Ordre de négocier (par exemple acheter) un instrument sur devises à une date ultérieure et à un taux fixe ou de procéder à la transaction inverse (par exemple vendre) à une date ultérieure et à un taux fixe.

Trading de devises

Terme désignant également le trading sur le marché Forex. Saxo Banque propose un logiciel et des plateformes de trading de devises en ligne.

Contrat à terme ferme (future)

Engagement échangé entre un acheteur et un vendeur sur un marché à terme. Ses spécifications sont standardisées. Il comporte un prix ferme et définitif, pour un paiement – et une livraison du sous-jacent lorsque les spécifications du contrat l'autorisent – différé(s).

G

Gamma

Variation approximative du delta d'une option par rapport à une variation du cours de l'action sous-jacente alors que tous les autres facteurs sont maintenus constants. Le gamma est précis pour les variations de petite amplitude du cours de l'action sous-jacente, mais est exprimé en termes de variation du delta en cas de variation d'un point de l'action.

Par exemple si une option d'achat présente un delta de 0,49 et un gamma de 0,03, si l'action chute d'un point, le delta d'achat est 0,46 (0,49 + [0,03 x – 1,00 USD]). Généré par un modèle mathématique, le delta dépend du cours de l'action, du prix d'exercice, de la volatilité, des taux d'intérêts, des dividendes et de la date d'expiration.

Effet de levier

Capacité à maintenir une position d'instrument d'une plus grande valeur que celle de vos capitaux propres (couverture). Lorsque vous exercez un effet de levier (également appelé « opération sur marge ») sur votre investissement, il vous suffit de déposer une fraction de la valeur actuelle de l'instrument dans lequel vous investissez.

Par exemple si la matière première négociée exige une marge de 5 %, vous pouvez remporter jusqu'à 20 fois votre investissement. Autrement dit, un dépôt de 10 000 USD permet de maintenir une position de 200 000 USD.

Valable jusqu'à révocation (GTC)

Type d'ordre à cours limité qui reste actif jusqu'à son exécution ou sa révocation. Contrairement à un ordre valable jour, un ordre GTC peut rester actif pour un nombre indéfini de séances de trading.

Valable jusqu'à date (GTD)

Ordre qui est valable jusqu'à la date indiquée par le trader. L'ordre est annulé s'il n'est pas exécuté à la date indiquée par le trader.

H

Commission d'entrée

Commission perçue par opération (aussi bien pour l'achat que pour la vente). À ne pas confondre avec la commission d'entrée et de sortie, qui inclut l'ouverture et la fermeture de positions.

Couverture

Outil servant à limiter l'exposition aux pertes d'investissement. Par exemple un investisseur qui a enregistré des gains importants non réalisés sur une position d'actions physiques ou d'options sur actions peut vendre un CFD pour les actions concernées afin d'éviter de perdre ses gains. Si la couverture garantit les gains dans ce cas-ci, elle empêche aussi ces gains d'augmenter. Autrement dit, lorsque vous couvrez, vous limitez vos gains tout autant que vos pertes.

Ratio de couverture

Variation du cours de l'option ou du cours au comptant sous-jacent.

Financial Glossary - E to H

The Financial Glossary has been developed to give quick access to definitions of terms and concepts used in the foreign exchange, money, equity, commodity and debt markets.

E

Earnings Per Share (EPS)

The EPS is the company's profit divided by the number of its outstanding shares.

If a company earning USD 10 million in one year had USD 10 million shares of stock outstanding, its EPS would be USD 1 per share.

Companies often use a weighted average of shares outstanding over the reporting term when calculating EPS.

Equities

A financial instrument that represents partial ownership of a company. Known as Stocks, equities, or shares.

European option

An option that can be exercised by the buyer only on the contract expiration date.

Exchange

A market where securities, Options, Futures and/or commodities are traded.

Exchange rate

What one currency is worth in terms of another. For example, one Argentine dollar might be worth 58 US cents or 70 Japanese yen. Currencies traded freely in foreign-exchange markets have a spot rate (applying to trades settled 'spot', that is, two working days hence) and a forward rate (which is the spot rate adjusted for the interest rate differential between the two currencies until maturity). Countries can determine their exchange rates in several ways:

  • A floating exchange rate system, where the currency finds its own level in the market.
  • A crawling or flexible peg system, which is a combination of an officially fixed rate and frequent small adjustments that in theory work against a build-up of speculation about a revaluation or devaluation.
  • A fixed exchange-rate system, where the value of the currency is set by the government and/or the central bank.

Exercise

A decision, reserved for the option holder, to request execution of the contract.

Expiration date

The day on which an option contract expires, or the last trading day for a futures contract.

Exposure

Being subject to risk, such as an exposure to foreign currency exchange-rate fluctuations.

Exposure coverage

The percentage of the exposure covered by funds available for margin.

F

Fibonacci technical study

The Fibonacci Fans and Bands are three-line guides drawn on charts derived from the Fibonacci number series.

Some traders believe they help identify successive areas of support and resistance in a market.

Firewall

A device typically used to protect private networks against malicious attacks from the Internet. A firewall restricts the type of network traffic that is allowed to pass to/from the Internet, and can sometimes cause problems with the operation of Client Station.

Forest

A chart style that takes the current close price as the base-line, and plots each data point relative to this base-line.

Forward outright

An order to trade a Forex instrument at a fixed price on a fixed date. The price of the forward outright is the spot rate adjusted for the interest rate differential between the two currencies until maturity. Forward Outright orders are often used to hedge exposure risks when dealing in foreign markets.

Forward-forward contract

An order to trade (for example, buy) a Forex instrument at a fixed price on a future date, or to conduct the opposite transaction (for example, sell) at a later date at a fixed price.

Foreign exchange trading

Foreign Exchange trading is an alternative term for Forex trading, FX trading and currency trading. Saxo Bank is the provider of an online Foreign Exchange trading platforms and software.

Futures/Futures contract

A legally binding agreement between a buyer and a seller on a market for derivative financial instruments. Contract specifications are standardized. They include a firm and final price for payment – and, where appropriate, delivery of the underlying asset – at a fixed date in future.

G

Gamma

An approximation of the change in the delta of an Option relative to a change in the price of the underlying stock when all other factors are held constant. Gamma is accurate for small changes in the price of the underlying stock, but is expressed in terms of a change in delta for a one-point move in the stock.

For example, if a call has a delta of .49 and a gamma of .03, if the stock moves down one point, the call delta would be .46 (.49 + (.03 x –USD 1.00)). Generated by a mathematical model, Delta depends on the stock price, strike price, volatility, interest rates, dividends, and time to expiration.

Gearing

The ability to hold an investment position of greater value than that of your equity (collateral). When gearing (also called leveraging) your investment, you need only deposit a fraction of the current value of the instrument you are investing in.

For example if the commodity you are trading in requires a margin of 5%, this allows you to leverage (or gear) your investment 20 times. In other words, a deposit of USD 10,000 can hold a position of USD 200,000.

Good till Cancelled (GTC)

A type of limit order that is active until it is filled or cancelled. As opposed to a day order, a GTC order can remain active for an indefinite number of trading sessions.

Good till Date (GTD)

An order that is good until a date specified by the trader. If the order is not executed by the date the trader specifies, the order will be cancelled.

H

Half turn

The commission is charged per trade (for both buy and sell). The alternative is a round-turn commission, which includes both opening and closing positions.

Hedge

A hedge is a tool used to limit exposure to investment losses. For example, an investor who has large, unrealised profits in a physical stock or stock Options position might sell a CFD for the same stock to prevent any loss of the profits. While the hedge ensures profit in this case, it also ensures that the profit cannot grow. In other words, when you hedge you limit your profits as well as your losses.

Hedge ratio

The change in the Option price or the change in the underlying spot price.

Trade responsibly

Losses can exceed deposits on margin products. Please ensure you understand the risks.

This website can be accessed worldwide however the information on the website is related to Saxo Bank A/S and is not specific to any entity of Saxo Bank Group. All clients will directly engage with Saxo Bank A/S and all client agreements will be entered into with Saxo Bank A/S and thus governed by Danish Law.


Apple, iPad and iPhone are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. App Store is a service mark of Apple Inc.

Your browser cannot display this website correctly

Our website is optimised to be browsed by a system running iOS 9.X and on desktop IE 10 or newer. If you are using an older system or browser, the website may look strange. To improve your experience on our site, please update your browser or system.